Majlisi Oli of the Republic of Tajikistan - the highest legal authority of the Republic of Tajikistan, Parliament.

Parliament consists of two chambers:

• Majlisi Milli (National Assembly) of Majlisi Oli. Chairman – Mahmadsaid Ubaydulloev;
• Majlisi Namoyandagon (Assembly of Representatives) of Majlisi Oli. Chairman of the National Assembly – Shukurjon Zuhurov.

Parliament of the Republic of Tajikistan is composed of 96 representatives of both chambers (Assembly of Representatives 63 seats and National Assembly 33 seats). Each former President of the Republic of Tajikistan is automatically a permanent member of the National Assembly, resigned of his own accord.

In the Parliamentary elections of March 1, 2015, representatives of six political parties entered the Majlisi Oli of Tajikistan. In this election 43 representativesof People's Democratic Party, the Communist Party - 2 representatives, the Economic Reform Party - 3 representatives, the Agrarian Party - 5 representatives, the Democratic Party - 1 representative, Tajikikistan Socialist Party - 1 representativegot seats in the Assembly of Representatives. 8 – people were admitted to eligible delegates.

Majlisi Oli, in case the consent of 2/3 of the deputies of the Assembly of Representatives and representatives of the National Assembly, has the right to overthrow their own. In emergency or military situation Majlisi Oli can not overthrow.

© 2018 Ambassy Republic of Tajikistan to Turkmenistan